Banana Bread

img_2484

It’s a pretty established habit in my house that I buy bananas and then watch them turn brown on the counter, before throwing them away and saying, “I’ll do better next time.” Only to inevitably be repeated the next time I go to the store.

But not this time! Yes, I bought bananas only to watch them go brown. But today was different because today I made banana bread.

This recipe originally came from a friend I met while interning in Breckenridge in the summer of 2009. I never tried making it in Breckenridge, and I’ve never tried making it in Denver until now. I’ve posted the original recipe, but have added my modifications for altitude in parentheses. I also added chocolate chips, because I just can’t help myself. But you could add walnuts, pecans, or nothing at all.

This is the best banana bread recipe I’ve found. It consistently produces a moist, flavorful bread that is always going to be a crowd pleaser!

Banana Bread
Original recipe from a dear friend
Adapted slightly for altitude using tips from Pie in the Sky

1/2 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup sugar (minus 1 tablespoon)
2 eggs
2 ripe mashed bananas
3/4 cup buttermilk (plus 2 tablespoons)
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 tablespoon vanilla
2 cups flour (plus 3 tablespoons)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder (minus 1/4 teaspoon)
1 cup chocolate chips

Preheat your oven to 350° (375°).

Mix the butter and sugar together, then add the eggs. Mix. Stir in the bananas.

In a measuring cup or small bowl, mix the buttermilk and baking soda. Add to the banana mixture, and then add the vanilla. Then add the flour, salt and baking powder. Mix well. Add chocolate chips, nuts, or whatever else you want to add in for a little something extra.

Pour into prepared loaf pan. Bake for 60 minutes (50-55 minutes). Ovens can vary so check the bread after 45 minutes. The middle should be dry when you put a knife through it.

Cool in pan on a wire rack for 10-15 minutes. Run a knife between the loaf and pan sides and tip out the loaf. Remove parchment paper if you used it. Turn right side up on the rack and cool completely (if you’re patient enough). Slice with a serrated knife.

Leave a Reply

